top of page

National Pan-Hellenic Council

The National Pan-Hellenic Council, Incorporated (NPHC) is currently composed of nine (9) International Greek letter Sororities and Fraternities: Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc., Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity, Inc., Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc., Zeta Phi Beta Sorority, Inc., Iota Phi Theta Fraternity, Inc., Kappa Alpha Psi Fraternity, Inc., Sigma Gamma Rho Sorority, Inc., Phi Beta Sigma Fraternity, Inc., and Omega Psi Phi Fraternity, Inc. NPHC promotes interaction through forums, meetings and other mediums for the exchange of information and engages in cooperative programming and initiatives through various activities and functions.

On May 10, 1930, on the campus of Howard University, in Washington, DC, the National Pan-Hellenic Council was formed as a permanent organization with the following charter members: Omega Psi Phi and Kappa Alpha Psi Fraternities, and Alpha Kappa Alpha, Delta Sigma Theta, and Zeta Phi Beta Sororities. In 1931, Alpha Phi Alpha and Phi Beta Sigma Fraternities joined the Council. Sigma Gamma Rho Sorority joined in 1937 and Iota Phi Theta Fraternity completed the list of member organizations in 1997.

The stated purpose and mission of the organization in 1930 was “Unanimity of thought and action as far as possible in the conduct of Greek letter collegiate fraternities and sororities, and to consider problems of mutual interest to its member organizations.” Early in 1937, the organization was incorporated under the laws of the State of Illinois and became known as “The National Pan-Hellenic Council, Incorporated.”

Greater Boston NPHC

In 1971, a few members of Alpha Phi Alpha, Alpha Kappa Alpha, Omega Psi Phi, and Delta Sigma Theta decided to form an unofficial BGLO group with an initial objective to launch a massive community engagement event in Roxbury, MA.  Members of this group also had a mission of increasing HBCU enrollment from high schools across the city of Boston and gradually expanded to include members representing all of the nine organizations.

​Continuously providing programming and public service to surrounding communities, this unofficial body of D9 members was instrumental in bringing the 73rd Annual NAACP Convention to the city of Boston in 1982 during a time when the city had an unfortunate resurgence of racial hate groups combined with record breaking black unemployment and crime.  The Council was officially charted with the National Headquarters in October of 1995 expanding to include and serve surrounding communities outside of the inner city limits.

The purpose of the NPHC across Greater Boston is to promote unity and purposeful action by effectively coordinating, monitoring, and governing member organizations in the Greater Boston area as outlined by the National Pan-Hellenic Council Headquarters.  We also serve as a supportive body for the Undergraduate Northeastern University National Pan-Hellenic Council and Graduate chapters held under the NPHC on matters of mutual concern.

Past Presidents of GBNPHC:

Brandon M. Tilghman - Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity, Inc.
Michael Black - Phi Beta Sigma Fraternity, Inc.
Ashlie Perry - Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc
Kenyora Johnson - Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc.

Lolita Walker - Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc.
Nayenday Thurman - Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc.

Sharon Jones - Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc.
Chanelle Fernandez - Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc.
James Owens - Omega Psi Phi Fraternity, Inc.

Guessiepina Bonner - Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc.

bottom of page